Team

What would the festival be without the team behind it, which is fully committed to ensuring that the best new student films are screened in Munich every November? During the summer, while we’re busily organizing FILMFEST MÜNCHEN, our main festival for the general public, important initial preparations for FILMSCHOOLFEST MUNICH are already underway. In early September, when the selection committee has met and decided which of the hundreds of films submitted will be in the program, the team really gets going.

Festival director Diana Iljine, project manager Andrea Rudert, and our commercial manager Thorsten Grieser coordinate all aspects of planning.

The program management team is responsible for ensuring that the films are also shown in theaters and that our international guests from the world of film find their way to Munich. Sandra Knösel, Sandra Engler, and Carmen Scheuring are in regular contact with the film schools and the students who are presenting their films here.

Most important of all, of course, are the guests and their films. But a festival also includes the theater auditorium, the festival center, the award ceremonies, excellent food and drink, and most definitely the parties. Event managers Jessica Weishaupt and Alina Götzlich, in coordination with our technical manager Florian Schneeweiss, organize the details of the events as well as the set-up, dismantling, and design of the festival locations.

A festival can only be planned well if everything in the office is running smoothly. Eveline Walter has everything under control as the office manager.

As all of this year’s events are being held at the University of Television and Film Munich (HFF), healthy and close cooperation is essential. As head of the International Office of the HFF, Elena Diesbach is coordinating and planning the entire supporting program for the anniversary edition with us.

Organizing a festival also means making an investment. Markus Höroldt, Julia Blechl, and Marina Bungert take care of the accounting and payroll so that our partners, service providers, and employees get their money on time. For matters of internal administration or staffing, Daniela Schink and Carolyn Schiroky are on hand. They also recruit additional team members who are needed during the festival. Flora Miketta, as marketing manager, along with Stephanie Zeller, is in contact with our benefactors and award sponsors, without whose generosity we would not be able to award so many prizes each year.

Communication is vital. Under the direction of Evelyn Voigt-Müller, the communications department ensures that all of Munich and the whole world hear about what’s on offer at the festival. In the editorial department, Michael Stadler, Tobi Obermeier, Mike Pilewski, and Barbara Oswald write the texts for the magazine and the website. As webmaster, Barbara maintains the website along with Maike Müller. As press officer, Annika Eidam is in regular contact with our partners in the media and handles all incoming press inquiries. And because social media makes the world go round, we have Matthias Lund and Sven Kolb, who supply our channels with all kinds of information before and during the festival.

FILMSCHOOLFEST MUNICH is first and foremost a festival for the general public, aimed at all moviegoers and film enthusiasts. Nicole Schumacher and Sara Le organize all of the processes necessary for our guests to be able to get their tickets to the screenings as well as their festival accreditation.

During the festival we’ll be able to count on the help of further team members. Ronny Heine and his camera will be everywhere that photos are to be taken. Benedikt Schulte will capture moving images and edit them into festival clips. The festival trailers were also created in this image “workshop”; they were edited by Raffaello Lupperger.

And if you’re wondering who brought the yellow balloons into play and designed the cool posters and the magazine, that’s our design agency, Abc&D, where this year Lukas Schimpfhauser in particular worked his magic with a computer mouse.

Team

Was wäre das Festival ohne das Team, das dahinter steht und mit vollem Einsatz dafür sorgt, dass jedes Jahr im November die aktuell besten Studierendenfilme in München zu sehen sind? Noch während das FILMFEST MÜNCHEN, unser großes Publikumsfestival im Sommer, auf Hochtouren organisiert wird, laufen im Hintergrund bereits erste wichtige Vorbereitungen für das FILMSCHOOLFEST MUNICH. Anfang September, wenn die Auswahljury getagt und aus hunderten Filmeinreichungen das Programm für den Wettbewerb zusammengestellt hat, legt das Team richtig los.

Bei Festivaldirektorin Diana Iljine, Projektleiterin Andrea Rudert und unserem kaufmännischen Leiter Thorsten Grieser laufen alle Fäden der Planungen zusammen.

Dass die Filme auch im Kino laufen und unsere internationalen Filmgäste ihren Weg nach München finden, dafür ist das Program Management zuständig: Sandra Knösel, Sandra Engler und Carmen Scheuring stehen in ständigem Austausch mit den Filmhochschulen und ihren Studierenden, die bei uns ihre Filme präsentieren.

Das Wichtigste sind natürlich die Gäste und ihre Filme. Zu einem Festival gehören aber auch das Kino, das Festivalzentrum, die Preisverleihungen, hervorragendes Essen und Trinken und ganz klar – die Partys. Das Event Management, bestehend aus Jessica Weishaupt und Alina Götzlich, organisiert zusammen mit unserem technischen Leiter Florian Schneeweiß den Ablauf der Veranstaltungen sowie den Auf- und Abbau und die Gestaltung der Festival-Locations.

Ein Festival kann auch nur reibungslos geplant werden, wenn alles im Büro läuft. Eveline Walter hat im Office Management alles im Griff.

Da alle Veranstaltungen dieses Jahr in der HFF München stattfinden, braucht es eine gute und enge Zusammenarbeit. Als Leiterin des International Office der HFF koordiniert und plant Elena Diesbach zusammen mit uns das komplette Rahmenprogramm für die Jubiläumsausgabe.

Wer ein Festival organisiert muss auch investieren. Markus Höroldt, Julia Blechl und Marina Bungert kümmern sich in der Finanz- und Personalbuchhaltung darum, dass unsere Partner, Dienstleister und Mitarbeiter:innen pünktlich ihr Geld bekommen. Wenn es um die interne Verwaltung oder Personalfragen geht, sind Daniela Schink und Carolyn Schiroky zur Stelle. Sie holen auch weitere Teammitglieder an Bord, die zusätzlich während dem Festival benötigt werden. Flora Miketta ist als Marketing Managerin zusammen mit Stephanie Zeller in Kontakt mit unseren Sponsoren und Preisstiftern, ohne die wir nicht jedes Jahr unsere Vielzahl an Preisen vergeben könnten.

Ohne Kommunikation läuft nichts. Unter der Leitung von Evelyn Voigt-Müller sorgt die Kommunikationsabteilung dafür, dass ganz München und die Welt davon erfährt, was auf dem Festival geboten ist. In der Redaktion schreiben Michael Stadler, Tobi Obermeier, Mike Pilewski und Barbara Oswald die Texte für das Magazin und die Website. Barbara betreut zudem als Webmaster gemeinsam mit Maike Müller den Online-Auftritt. Annika Eidam steht als Pressereferentin im ständigen Austausch mit unseren Medienpartnern und betreut alle ankommenden Presseanfragen. Und weil ohne Social Media gleich gar nichts geht, gibt es Matthias Lund und Sven Kolb, die unsere Kanäle mit allen Infos vor und während dem Festival bespielen.

Das FILMSCHOOLFEST MUNICH ist vor allem auch ein Publikumsfestival, das sich an alle Kinogänger:innen und Filminteressierte richtet. Nicole Schumacher und Sara Le organisieren im Besuchermanagement alle nötigen Prozesse, damit unsere Gäste an ihre Tickets für die Vorführungen oder ihre Festivalakkreditierungen kommen.

Während des Festivals werden uns noch weitere Mitarbeiter:innen tatkräftig unterstützen. So wird Ronny Heine mit seinem Fotoapparat überall dort sein, wo es was zu fotografieren gibt. Benedikt Schulte fängt die bewegten Bilder ein und schneidet daraus Festivalclips. Auch die Festivaltrailer stammen aus der "Werkstatt" der Lichtbilder, Raffaello Lupperger hat sie geschnitten.

Und wenn ihr euch fragt, wer die gelben Luftballons ins Spiel gebracht hat und die coolen Plakate entworfen hat und das Magazin - das ist unsere Designagentur abc&D, wo dieses Jahr vor allem Lukas Schimpfhauser mit der Maus gezaubert hat.