Press Releases

Thursday, 10/29/2015

The 2015 Filmschoolfest Jury

  • Director Marco Kreuzpaintner is Jury President
  • The other members are actor Thure Lindhardt, Edinburgh IntI. Film Festival programmer Neil Fox, reporter and film critic Nil Varol and 2014 winner Anaïs Ruales
  • They will select the winners out of 52 films from 21 countries and present the main festival awards


Director Marco Kreuzpaintner is the president of the international jury that will be deciding the winners at the 35. International Festival of Film Schools (November 15 – 21). Anaïs Ruales from France won last year’s VFF Young Talent Award for best film. Nil Varol is the producer of a TV show on culture at broadcaster 3sat. Neil Fox is an EIFF programmer and actor Thure Lindhardt recently starred in, among others, Sherry Horman’s film "3096 Days".

"Marco Kreuzpaintner is one of Germany‘s most successful and eclectic directors,” says festival director Diana Iljine. “His commercial and critical success as well as his expertise and passion for film make him the ideal jury president."

Marco Kreuzpaintner studied art history in Salzburg and worked as an assistant to Edgar Reitz and Peter Lilienthal. His short films “Entering Reality” and “Der Atemkünstler”, both starring August Diehl, attracted considerable attention. His second feature film, “Summer Storm” with Robert Stadlober and Kostja Ullmann, had its world premiere in 2004 at FILMFEST MÜNCHEN and won the audience award. Roland Emmerich hired him to direct “Trade” which won the German Cinema Award for Peace in 2007. “Krabat and the Legend of the Satanic Mill” followed in 2008. His comedy “Coming In” was a box office hit in Germany in 2013. In 2015 he shot “Polizeiruf 110” for the Bavarian Broadcasting Company and “Wunderland” for the ARD. His production company Summerstorm Entertainment is currently developing “Undying”, an international project.

Marco Kreuzpaintner: "I’m really looking forward to what moves and motivates film students from around the world. I know the festival from 15 years ago when it took place in the ARRI cinema and I’m delighted to be part of it now in this great jury.”

The jury will be watching 52 films from 21 countries. In addition to the main prize for Best Film, it will also be picking the winners in the categories Best Documentary (the ARRI Award), Best Screenplay (the Luggi Waldleitner Prize) and Best Cinematography (the Student Camera Award).

Marco Kreuzpaintner will hold a masterclass on Thursday, November 19, in the cinema of the Munich Filmmuseum. It is open to the public and free of charge. On Saturday, November 21, there will be a screening of his film “Trade” starring Kevin Kline. Tickets are available online starting November 4 and at the Festival box office in the Filmmuseum as of November 15.