FILMSCHOOLFEST MUNICH: Juries and supporting program

Header Jury

THis year's Jury: Mira Fornay, Quentin Lichtblau, Ildikó Enyedi, Özcan Vardar and Yana Sad. (Copyright: Filmschoolfest munich)

Friday 10/28/2022

40 short films will vie in the international competition for awards worth a total of 32,000 euros. The festival jury will be chaired by director Ildikó Enyedi. A program of free supporting events rounds off the week-long festival.

From Monday, November 14 to Friday, November 18, the 40 short films from 21 countries (of production) in the international competition will be screened in ten modules in the Audimax at the University of Television and Film Munich (HFF). The screenings will be held at 6:30 pm and 9 pm. Detailed information about the program can be found in our press release of October 20, 2022 and on the festival’s website.


The festival jury

Chairing the jury this year is internationally renowned, multiple award-winning Hungarian film director Ildikó Enyedi. She and four other jury members — last year’s VFF Young Talent Award recipient Yana Sad, Slovak director Mira Fornay (recipient of the CineRebel Award at FILMFEST MÜNCHEN 2022), film editor Özcan Vardar and journalist Quentin Lichtblau — will decide who is to receive each of the various awards in the international competition. More information about the jury members can be found here.


The awards

Awards totaling 32,000 euros will be presented — thanks to the long-standing award sponsors: VFF Verwertungsgesellschaft der Film- und Fernsehproduzenten mbH, ARRI Arnold & Richter Cine Technik, the Waldleitner family, Film & TV Kamera, Panther GmbH, arte, Interfilm Akademie, Freundeskreis Filmfest München and Freundeskreis Wolfgang Längsfeld e.V. The honors will be presented at the Award Ceremony on November 19.

The Climate Clips Award (Nagelschneider Foundation), carrying a total value of 6,000 euros, will be presented once again, this time during the Opening Ceremony on November 13.


The other juries this year are comprised as follows:

The Wolfgang Längsfeld jury consists of Ivan Dubrovin, Thom Lunshof, and Uschi Reich.

The Prix Interculturel will be presented by Galina Antoschewskaja, Pastor Eckart Bruchner, and Bhagu T. Chellaney.


Of course, our popular Audience Award will be back. All audience members are welcome to vote online for their favorites.


The supporting program: all are welcome, free of charge

During the week of the festival, free workshops and panel discussions will also be held at the HFF. These are aimed at students and professors as well as interested members of the public.


November 17, 2 pm:

In a cross between a master class and a workshop, the chair of this year’s jury, Ildikó Enyedi, will give insight into her working methods and discuss clever ways of handling the kinks and challenges that arise in dramaturgy on the way from the script to the final cut. The event DRAMATURGY & EDITING – FROM SCRIPT TO FINAL CUT will be moderated by Susanne Hermanski, arts editor at the Süddeutsche Zeitung, and Prof. Beatrice Babin, a film editor and professor at the University of Television and Film Munich (HFF).


November 18, 10 am:

A lecture titled NATIONAL AND INTERNATIONAL FILM FESTIVALS AND MARKETS will be given by festival director Diana Iljine and Sandra Knösel, head of program management at FILMFEST MÜNCHEN and FILMSCHOOLFEST MUNICH. This event is being held in cooperation with Atelier Ludwigsburg-Paris.


November 18, 3 pm:

Casting director Esther Kling and film director Maria Schrader are giving a master class together. They previously collaborated on Schrader’s Emmy Award-winning hit series UNORTHODOX. The master class is being held in cooperation with the Steve Tisch School of Film and Television in Tel Aviv, which Esther Kling attended.


Opening and Award Ceremony

The Opening of the 41st FILMSCHOOLFEST MUNICH will be held on November 13, the Award Ceremony on November 19. (Both events are by invitation only.)



Sales start on November 7 at and via München Ticket (individual tickets: 6 euros / festival pass: 30 euros).


Media accreditation

If you are interested in being accredited, please contact Please understand that due to limited capacity, only journalists who are covering the festival may be accredited. Deadline for accreditation: November 9, 2022.