Monday, 11/13/2017

The Jury 2017

This year's jury members

The Jury 2017


The decision about this year's jury members has been made! Five people from film and television will be present at FILMSCHOOLFEST MUNICH 2017 to watch all the films and choose the best ones. If you want to get to know the jury a little bit better, you should not miss MEET THE JURY (Friday, 24th of November, 11 AM, HFF), when the jury members will answer all your questions. The event is open to the public and admission is free.

The jury president of FILMSCHOOLFEST MUNICH 2017 is Götz Otto. Götz Otto is a German actor, known for films like DOWNFALL, IRON SKY or JAMES BOND 007 - TOMORROW NEVER DIES. He is part of numerous German and international productions for cinema and television. Götz Otto was born in Offenbach am Main and attended the drama school Otto Falckenberg in Munich from 1989 to 1993.

The other members of the jury 2017 are:

Ariel Richter is an American-Israeli festival maker, producer and director. He graduated summa cum laude from The Jerusalem Sam Spiegel Film & Television School's Production Program in 2014. Since graduating, Ariel has worked in a variety of key roles in the Israeli film industry, including as the Deputy Director of The Sam Spiegel International Film Lab and as a Junior Producer at the Tel Aviv based production company Black Sheep. Since 2017, Ariel is the director of the Jerusalem Film Festival's Israeli Competitions and Industry Days, while continuing to develop films as an independent producer.

Selina Ukwuoma is a British script consultant and was a member of the preselection jury for FILMSCHOOLFEST MUNICH 2015. She regularly tutors, lectures, and leads workshops in screenwriting and pitching at film schools and film festivals. In the past, she worked for EON screenwriters’ Workshop, literary and talent agency Curtis Brown, and their production arm CUBA Pictures. Projects she has worked on range from the BAFTA-winning BOY A to the Teddy and FIPRESCI Prize-winning HOJE EU QUERO VOLTAR SOZINHO (THE WAY HE LOOKS). Ukwuoma has completed degrees in screenwriting, professional writing, and social anthropology.

Anna Cazenave Cambet is a French filmmaker who won the VFF Young Talent Award ("best film") for her short film GABBER LOVER at the FILMSCHOOLFEST MUNICH 2016. Anna Cazenave Cambet was born in Southeast France in 1990. She studied photography at ETPA Toulouse, where she won the Special Jury Prize of the Pierre Barbot Studio. In 2011 she moved to Paris, where she was a finalist for the Picto prize for young fashion photographers. She enrolled at FÉMIS for directing in 2013.

Shubhashish Bhutiani is a director and screenwriter from India. In 2017 his film HOTEL SALVATION celebrated its German premiere at FILMFEST MÜNCHEN. He grew up in a small Himalayan town and later specialized in Direction as an undergraduate from the School of Visual Arts, New York in 2013. Ever since, he attended over 50 Filmfestival worldwide and won many awards for his work.


Copyright for photo of Götz Otto: Michael Petersohn