AFTRS (Australia)

Australian Film, Television and Radio School

The Australian Film, Television and Radio School, in its successive metamorphoses, started life as the Film and Television School (FTS) with the first intake of students into the 'interim training group' taking place in 1973 that included Gillian Armstrong and Philip Noyce. In 1976 the School became known as the Australian Film Television School (AFTS) and was admitted as a full member of the International Association of Film and Television Schools CILECT. In 1986 AFTS became the Australian Film, Television and Radio School (AFTRS) and the foundation stone was laid for a new building in North Ryde in Sydney adjacent to Macquarie University. In 2008 the School relocated to a state-of-the-art purpose built facility in Moore Park adjacent to Fox Studios, its current home today.

AFTRS offers a number of undergraduate courses, including the BA Screen-Production, plus a number of Diplomas and Advanced Diplomas in various specialisations. It also offers a number of postgraduate courses, including Graduate Certificates, the MA Screen (offered in 11 disciplines), MA Screen - Business & Leadership and the Graduate Diploma in Radio.

Notable alumni include Jane Campion, Alex Proyas, Andrew Lesnie and Pip Karmel.

Find out more