CONFESSIONS OF REPUBLICANS

German Age Rating

To Pantaflix

In order to participate in US presidential elections, citizens must first register to vote. In the last election, however, some 65 million were not registered. Supporters of the Republican Party see winning them over as the key to re-electing Donald Trump. Conservative activist Scott Presler is among those who are out registering new voters. His slogan “I’m gay. Democrats don’t own me” is causing a stir.


CLOSE UP is an annual educational project of the department of television journalism at the University of Television and Film Munich (HFF). Students travel abroad to create their own news reports and features. In February 2020 this year’s class filmed six news reports in Washington, DC on climate policy, racism, drug abuse, poverty, and the upcoming presidential election.




    • Duration: 24 Min.


Also in this Program:
AMERICAN DREAM
FLOODLAND
I TEACH MY KIDS LOVE
LET'S TALK ABOUT RACE
YOU COULD BE HERE ONE DAY

tags: Documentary, Society, Politics

Credits

Director of Photography: Caroline Spreitzenbart

Film Editor: Caroline Spreitzenbart

Sound: Denise Riedmayr

Production Company: Hochschule für Fernsehen und Film Munich

Director: Caroline Spreitzenbart

biography

After learning graphic design at Die Graphische school in Vienna, Caroline Spreitzenbart completed a BA in time-based and interactive media at the University of Art and Design Linz. Since 2014, she has been studying image design at the University of Television and Film Munich (HFF). As a DAAD scholarship holder, she carried out several projects at the Mexican Film Institute. Twice in a row, films in which Spreitzenbart was in charge of image design were honored as best documentary short film at the Diagonale in Graz. Her short film SPIELFELD, of which she was co-director and cinematographer, received the Carte Blanche Young Talent Award at the Duisburg Film Week in 2017.

Screenings

as Pantaflix Stream (116 Min.)

CONFESSIONS OF REPUBLICANS

Altersfreigabe

Zu Pantaflix

Um an den US-Präsidentschaftswahlen teilnehmen zu können, müssen sich Staatsbürger*innen zunächst in das regionale Wählerverzeichnis eintragen lassen. Bei der letzten Wahl waren circa 65 Millionen US-Bürger*innen nicht registriert. Für die Unterstützer*innen der republikanischen Partei, liegt hier allerdings der Schlüssel zur Wiederwahl Donald Trumps. Unterstützung bekommt die Kampagne zur Registrierung neuer Wählergruppen vom konservativen Aktivist Scott Presler, der mit seinem Spruch “I’m gay. Democrats don’t own me.” für Aufsehen sorgt.


CLOSE UP ist ein jährlich stattfindendes Lehrprojekt der Abteilung Fernsehjournalismus an der HFF München. Studierende reisen in andere Länder und realisieren dort eigene Reportagen und Magazinbeiträge. Im Februar 2020 drehte der diesjährige Jahrgang sechs Beiträge in Washington, DC zu den Themen Klimapolitik, Rassismus, Drogenmissbrauch, Armut und die bevorstehende Präsidentschaftswahl.




    • Laufzeit: 24 Min.


Außerdem in diesem Programm:
AMERICAN DREAM
FLOODLAND
I TEACH MY KIDS LOVE
LET'S TALK ABOUT RACE
YOU COULD BE HERE ONE DAY

tags: Dokumentarfilm, Gesellschaft, Politik

Credits

Kamera: Caroline Spreitzenbart

Schnitt: Caroline Spreitzenbart

Ton: Denise Riedmayr

Produktion (Firma): Hochschule für Fernsehen und Film Munich

Regie: Caroline Spreitzenbart

Biografie

Nach einer gestalterischen Ausbildung an der Wiener Schule „Die Graphische“ absolvierte Caroline Spreitzenbart einen B.A. in "Zeitbasierte und interaktive Medien" an der Kunstuniversität Linz. Seit 2014 studiert sie Bildgestaltung an der HFF München. Als Stipendiatin des DAAD realisierte sie mehrere Projekte am Mexikanischen Filminstitut. Bereits zwei Mal in Folge wurden Filme, bei denen Spreitzenbart die Bildgestaltung verantwortete, auf der Diagonale in Graz als „bester dokumentarischer Kurzfilm“ ausgezeichnet. Ihr Kurzfilm SPIELFELD, bei dem sie Co-Regie und Kamera übernahm, gewann 2017 den „Carte Blanche“-Nachwuchspreis auf der Duisburger Filmwoche.

Vorstellungen

als Pantaflix Stream (116 Min.)