AMERICAN DREAM

German Age Rating

To Pantaflix

A road worker who works 60 hours a week at a minimum-wage job that barely covers his family’s expenses. A retired photographer who sells Trump merchandise to make ends meet. For decades, social inequity has been growing in the United States. Using official statistics and facts about social inequity and racism, this film tells the stories of those who cannot afford to dream the American dream.


CLOSE UP is an annual educational project of the department of television journalism at the University of Television and Film Munich (HFF). Students travel abroad to create their own news reports and features. In February 2020 this year’s class filmed six news reports in Washington, DC on climate policy, racism, drug abuse, poverty, and the upcoming presidential election.




    • Duration: 22 Min.


Also in this Program:
CONFESSIONS OF REPUBLICANS
FLOODLAND
I TEACH MY KIDS LOVE
LET'S TALK ABOUT RACE
YOU COULD BE HERE ONE DAY

tags: Work, Documentary, Society, Politics

Credits

Director of Photography: Felix Länge

Film Editor: Felix Länge

Production Company: Hochschule für Fernsehen und Film Munich

Director: Felix Länge

biography

Born in Erfurt, Germany, in 1994, Felix Länge grew up in the town of Schwäbisch Gmünd. An apprenticeship at Emenes GmbH gave him post-production experience as an editor, visual-effects artist, and colorist. Since 2016 he has been studying documentary film and television journalism at the University of Television and Film Munich (HFF). He has already made his first medium-length documentary films.

Screenings

as Pantaflix Stream (116 Min.)

AMERICAN DREAM

Altersfreigabe

Zu Pantaflix

Ein Straßenarbeiter, der 60 Stunden pro Woche arbeitet. Ein Job mit Mindestlohn, der gerade so für die Familie reicht. Ein pensionierter Fotograf, der Trump-Merchandise verkauft, um über die Runden zu kommen. Seit Jahrzehnten verstärkt sich die soziale Ungerechtigkeit in den Vereinigten Staaten. Mithilfe von offiziellen Statistiken und Fakten zu sozialer Ungerechtigkeit und Rassismus erzählt der Film von Menschen, die es sich nicht leisten können, den American Dream träumen zu können.


CLOSE UP ist ein jährlich stattfindendes Lehrprojekt der Abteilung Fernsehjournalismus an der HFF München. Studierende reisen in andere Länder und realisieren dort eigene Reportagen und Magazinbeiträge. Im Februar 2020 drehte der diesjährige Jahrgang sechs Beiträge in Washington, DC zu den Themen Klimapolitik, Rassismus, Drogenmissbrauch, Armut und die bevorstehende Präsidentschaftswahl.




    • Laufzeit: 22 Min.


Außerdem in diesem Programm:
CONFESSIONS OF REPUBLICANS
FLOODLAND
I TEACH MY KIDS LOVE
LET'S TALK ABOUT RACE
YOU COULD BE HERE ONE DAY

tags: Arbeit, Dokumentarfilm, Gesellschaft, Politik

Credits

Kamera: Felix Länge

Schnitt: Felix Länge

Produktion (Firma): Hochschule für Fernsehen und Film Munich

Regie: Felix Länge

Biografie

Felix Länge ist 1994 in Erfurt geboren und in Schwäbisch Gmünd aufgewachsen. Er absolvierte eine Ausbildung zum Mediengestalter für Bild und Ton bei der Emenes GmbH. In der Zeit arbeitete er vor allem in der Postproduktion im Schnitt, als VFX Artist und Colorist. Seit 2016 studiert er an der HFF München in der Abteilung Dokumentarfilm und Fernsehpublizistik und realisierte bereits erste mittellange Dokumentarfilme.

Vorstellungen

als Pantaflix Stream (116 Min.)