Award winners 2020

Best Film:
VFF Young Talent Award

Sponsor: VFF Verwertungsgesellschaft der Film- und Fernsehproduzenten mbH
Prize: 10,000 €


HE PULLS HIS TRUCK

by Kirill Proskurin
Moscow Film School, Russia

The Jury:
HE PULLS HIS TRUCK is one of many films from this year’s lineup with a child in it's center. A film dealing with the difficulties that the weakest of our society have, struggling with violence and poverty.
KIRILL PROSKURIN never leaves IYOSHA’s perspective. The small act of finding a toy truck becomes the biggest thing in the world and we finally understand why. That he has lost a father who was a truck driver. That he has not found a new father in his stepfather.
But we see him finding a new father in this difficult situation and that gives him strength and power for a short moment in his life.
The script manages to tell me all these huge emotions with hardly any dialogue. The cinematography is always close to the boy and made him forget the camera, at least this is what it looks like, so we forget too, that we are watching a film. The acting is so precise in every gesture and word, so we even forget we are watching actors doing their work instead of real people.
A warm film full of empathy, beautifully crafted, that is everything we wish for a great short film. This is why we award HE PULLS HIS TRUCK with the VFF Young Talent Award.

 

Best Script:
Luggi Waldleitner-Award

Sponsor: Family Waldleitner
Prize: 2,000 €

HEADING SOUTH

by Yuan Yuan (director & screenwriter)
New York University, USA

The Jury:
We are very excited to present the award for Best Screenplay to HEADING SOUTH.
Inspired by the writer-director's childhood, this story was a delight to behold. Deeply moving and tightly written, the story follows our young heroine as she navigates two worlds, varying in culture and language, ultimately having to choose. Capturing the tension of the situation while keeping the point of view firmly through the eyes of a child, the film displays great mastery in storytelling.

 

Best Documentary:
ARRI-Award

Sponsor: Arnold & Richter Cine Technik
Prize: 4,000 € worth of rental services by ARRI


FOR EUNICE

by Jaan Stevens
RITCS School of Arts, Belgium

The Jury:
We are very happy to present the award for Best Documentary to FOR EUNICE.
Staying with you long after the credits have rolled, this film pulls you right into the world of young Eunice, a subject who captivated us from the moment she appeared on screen. Told with sensitiveness, warmth, and a commitment to accuracy, the director captures both the uncertainty and the playful nature of childhood, showcasing the inner strength this young girl exhibits as she navigates her daily struggles and triumphs. An absolute delight of a film.

 

Best Animation:
zweiB Award

Sponsor: zweiB GmbH
Prize: A professional DCP-Mastering (worth € 1,000)


DAUGHTER

by Daria Kashcheeva
Film and TV School of the Academy of Performing Arts in Prague, Czech Republic

The Jury:
We are thrilled to present the award for Best Animation to DAUGHTER.
An original, heartfelt and beautifully realised narrative that is tightly constructed and powerfully affecting, brought to life by exquisite stop-motion animation. Rich themes and emotional complexity are conveyed effectively through the symbolic imagery, and the expressive eyes of the wordless characters.
The gorgeously rendered diffusion of light, depth of field and tactile fibres of the hand-crafted animation combine to make this a deeply cinematic and profoundly moving piece of work, and a wonderful example of pure visual storytelling.

 

ARTE-Shortfilm-Award

Sponsor: Arte
Prize: Arte buys the broadcast rights to a film (fictional genre) no longer than 15 minutes for up to € 6,000



DRIFTING

by Hanxiong Bo
University of California, USA

The Jury of the ARTE-Shortfilm-Award:
With strong visuals but narrative subtlety, the filmmaker takes us along to his home country. Confronted with reality and the major issues in Chinese society, the filmmaker manages within a short period of time to immerse himself in the suffering of a family and brilliantly document the rift between tradition and modernity.
We congratulate filmmaker Hanxiong Bo on his extraordinary work DRIFTING and award him the 2020 ARTE Short Film Prize.

 

Best Production:
Panther-Award

For students of a European university
Sponsor: Panther GmbH
Prize: Panther's state-of-the-art dolly equipment for a period of four weeks worth 5,000 €


L'HOMME JETÉE

by Loïc Hobi (director & producer)
École de la Cité, France

The Jury:
A movie about love, portraying a powerful and uniquely intimate universe - indicating a work of a mature director behind the scenes. A beautiful visual journey, that can perfectly express the emotional deepness of the film. We can watch eternal shades of blue color, with a very sensual lighting on the two lonley sailor’s faces. The rippling of the sea in the film, waves through the whole story emotionally, and breaks our heart into thousand pieces in the final scenes. In the end, we will be totally connected with the sailor in love, who has been left behind by his lover, after his desperate running.

 

Prix Interculturel

Sponsor: Interfilm Akademie München
Prize: 2,000 €

The members of the Interfilm Jury 2020 were Eckart Bruchner, Alice Gadbled and Franz Indra.


FOR EUNICE

by Jaan Stevens
RITCS School of Arts, Belgium

The Interfilm Jury:
For Eunice. It sounds like a gift. A gift to that strong and moving girl called Eunice who we watch throughout this beautiful and genuine documentary discover what life already is and will be for a black overweight woman in a foreign country. We get to experience the cruelty between children, driven by the already existing prejudiced mindsets they have. We laugh and ache with Eunice, thanks to the delicate and trustful directing of Jaan Stevens. Without telling straightly anything, this short film unites us all by questioning our societies and how we let the next generation suffer from what we know should be stopped.

 

SPECIAL MENTION

DRIFTING

by Hanxiong Bo
University of California, USA

The Interfilm Jury:
Yan is raised as a girl by his parents so that he can be passed off as his older sister during China‘s one-child policy. As a young adult he has to fight for his identity against the conservative views of his family. Cautious staging, fine acting and dialogs as well as excellent cinematography point out the effects of the well-known policy on people in a universal way.

 

Most original film:
Wolfgang-Längsfeld-Award

Sponsor: Freundeskreis-Wolfgang-Längsfeld e.V.
Prize: 3,000 €

 

THE DRAGON WITH TWO HEADS

by Páris Cannes
INSAS, Institut National Supérieur des Arts du Spectacle et techniques de diffusion, Belgium

The Jury of the Wolfgang-Längsfeld-Award:
The jury has chosen this unique film out of fifty movies. It was the only film which the jury independently voted unanimously as their favorite for the Wolfgang Längsfeld Award 2020.
The film deals with a relevant and important subject,homophobia in Brazil, but just as importantly, it conveys it by telling a small, simple story, a human story. From the first shot, one can easily detect the creative, surprising, uncompromising way of thinking, so different from classic film language. An absurd situation exposes a bleak reality, but instead of distancing the audience, the film's colorful, vibrant frames exude a light-hearted, "inviting" sensation.
This contrast illustrates the filmmaker's fascinating and unique point of view of the situation and enables the political messages gently and unobtrusively come through as part of the plot. We feel this courageous director goes all the way with his imagination, both visually and story-wise, and we wish to encourage this kind of approach in cinema.

 

Audience Award

Sponsor: Freundeskreis FILMFEST MÜNCHEN
Prize: € 1,500

THE BEST ORCHESTRA IN THE WORLD

by Henning Backhaus
Filmakademie Wien, Austria

 

Special Mentions


FILIPIÑANA

by Rafael Manuel Mendoza
London Film School, United Kingdom

The Jury:
We would like to give a special mention to FILIPIÑANA for its originality, unusual tone and distinctive visual language. In singling out the symmetry and repetition of her world, the filmmakers have created a sense of otherworldliness and unease, and a strong sense of isolation. Dynamic and innovative use of music and clean, striking cinematography make this a standout piece of work.

 

Climate Clips Award

Sponsor: Nagelschneider Stiftung
Prize: 1. Prize - 5,000 €, 2. Prize - 3,000 €, 3. Prize - 1,000 €, Audience Award - 1,000 €


1. Prize: THE CARFUCKERS
by Josia Brezing
Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg, Germany

The Climate-Clips-Jury:
Set in a red-light district of all places, this satire uses harsh words (“Ride a bike, fucker!”) and hard-hitting traffic statistics to make the case for switching from cars to bikes. The clip makes ironic use of a thriller-type scenario to refer to overdependence on automobiles. The jury congratulates the director and the team on their skillful visualization of an appeal to reason that’s addressed to all of us, and awards them the 1st prize for the original plot.

2. Prize: RELICS
by Yonathan Dumosch and Rotem Ezra
Sapir College, Israel

The Climate-Clips-Jury:
This enchanting animation takes us into the depths of the ocean alongside a solitary diver who looks after injured animals in their endangered habitat. He finds a plastic deer, a sad relic of a civilization that dumps pollution and garbage into the oceans every day, and takes it back with him to put in the aquarium in his dreary bunker. The colorful underwater world contrasts with the gray silhouette of the city on the surface. The jury awards the 2nd prize to a well-made animated film with excellent sound and original music.

3. Prize: SAFE WATER
by Mario Dahl
Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg, Germany

The Climate-Clips-Jury:
A fictional scene shows a little girl on a diving platform, ready to jump into what is revealed to be nothing: a gaping, empty swimming pool. The message is as clear as it is obvious: “No water, no future.” It’s presented congruently within the shot, centered, head-on, seen from below, at eye level, and from above, shot in pastel hues. For this conciseness, shot in the shortest possible time, the jury awards the 3rd prize to a convincing commentary on one of the last resources in climate change.

Audience Award: THE CARFUCKERS
by Josia Brezing
Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg, Germany

Preisträger 2020

Bester Film:
VFF Young Talent Award

Stifter: VFF Verwertungsgesellschaft der Film- und Fernsehproduzenten mbH
Preis: 10.000 €


HE PULLS HIS TRUCK

von Kirill Proskurin
Moscow Film School, Russland

Die Festival Jury:
HE PULLS HIS TRUCK ist einer von vielen Filmen aus dem diesjährigen Programm, die ein Kind in den Mittelpunkt rücken. Es ist ein Film, der sich mit den Schwierigkeiten der Schwächsten in der Gesellschaft, die mit Gewalt und Armut zu kämpfen haben, befasst.
Regisseur Kirill Proskurin verliert dabei niemals Iyoshas Perspektive. Das kleine Ziel, einen Spielzeugtruck zu finden, wird für ihn das wichtigste Vorhaben – und am Ende verstehen wir auch warum: Er hat seinen Vater verloren, der LKW-Fahrer war, und kann im neuen Mann seiner Mutter keine Vaterfigur finden.
Aber wir begleiten ihn dabei, wie er in einer schwierigen Situation einen neuen Vater findet. Das gibt ihm zumindest für einen kurzen Moment in seinem Leben Stärke und Kraft.
Das Drehbuch ist so geschrieben, dass all diese großen Emotionen bei mir ankommen. und das fast ohne Dialog. Die Kamera ist immer nah bei dem Jungen und dieser kann sie so völlig ausblenden, zumindest sieht es so aus. So vergessen auch wir, dass wir gerade einen Film schauen. Das Schauspiel ist bei jeder Geste und jedem Wort so präzise, dass wir sogar vergessen, dass wir gerade Schauspieler*innen bei ihrer Arbeit zusehen und nicht echte Menschen beobachten.
HE PULLS HIS TRUCK ist ein Film voller Empathie, der wunderschön gemacht ist und gibt uns alles, was wir uns von einem großartigen Kurzfilm wünschen. Darum erhält er den VFF Young Talent Award für den besten Film.

 

Bestes Drehbuch:
Luggi Waldleitner-Preis

Stifter: Familie Waldleitner
Preis: 2.000 €

HEADING SOUTH

von Yuan Yuan (Regie & Drehbuch)
New York University, USA

Die Festival-Jury:
Wir freuen uns sehr, den Preis für das beste Drehbuch an HEADING SOUTH zu verleihen.
Es war eine Freude, diese Geschichte, die von der Kindheit der Drehbuchautorin und Regisseurin inspiriert ist, zu sehen. Die zutiefst berührende und dicht geschriebene Erzählung folgt der jungen Heldin auf ihrem Weg durch zwei Welten, deren Kulturen und Sprachen unterschiedlich sind und zwischen denen sie sich letztlich entscheiden muss. Der Film fängt die angespannte Situation perfekt ein, immer aus der Perspektive des Kindes, und demonstriert so großes Können im Storytelling.

 

Bester Dokumentarfilm:
ARRI-Award

Stifter: Arnold & Richter Cine Technik
Preis: Sachleistungen-Rental ARRI im Wert von 4.000 €



FOR EUNICE

von Jaan Stevens
RITCS School of Arts, Belgien

Die Festival-Jury:
Wir freuen uns sehr, den Preis für den besten Dokumentarfilm an FOR EUNICE zu überreichen.
Dieser Film bleibt, auch lange nachdem der Abspann vorüber ist, im Gedächtnis. Er entführt die Zuschauer in die Welt der jungen Eunice, einem Mädchen, das uns vom ersten Moment an in seinen Bann zieht. Eunice‘ Geschichte wird mit viel Feingefühl, Wärme und Präzision erzählt. Der Regisseur fängt die Ungewissheit, aber auch die spielerische Natur der Kindheit ein und zeigt dabei die innere Stärke, die dieses junge Mädchen bei seinen alltäglichen Problemen und Triumphen entwickelt. Ein absolut entzückender Film.

 

Beste Animation:
zweiB Award

Stifter: zweiB GmbH
Preis: Ein professionelles DCP-Mastering (im Wert von ca. € 1.000)


DAUGHTER

von Daria Kashcheeva
Film and TV School of the Academy of Performing Arts in Prague, Tschechische Republik

Die Festival-Jury:
Wir freuen uns, DAUGHTER den Preis für die beste Animation überreichen zu dürfen.
Der Film ist eine originelle, mit Liebe inszenierte und wunderschöne Erzählung, die durch die großartige Stop-Motion-Animation zum Leben erwacht. Das schwere Thema und die emotionale Komplexität werden effektiv mit symbolischer Bildsprache und durch die ausdrucksstarken Augen der, sonst stummen, Figuren vermittelt.
Die wunderschöne Lichtstreuung, die Tiefenschärfe und die fast fühlbaren Fasern der handgefertigten Animation machen diesen Film zutiefst berührend und zu einem großartigen Beispiel für visuelles Geschichtenerzählen.

 

ARTE-Kurzfilmpreis

Stifter: arte Television
Preis: Ankauf eines Films bis max. 15 Minuten Länge und bis 6.000 €


DRIFTING

von Hanxiong Bo
University of California, USA

Die Jury des ARTE-Kurzfilmpreises:
Mit starken Bildern, aber einem subtilen Narrativ, nimmt uns der Regisseur mit auf eine Reise in sein Heimatland. Konfrontiert mit der Realität und den Problemen der chinesischen Gesellschaft, schafft er es in kurzer Zeit, sich auf die Geschichte einer Familie einzulassen, deren Leid darzustellen und dabei noch brillant den Graben zwischen Tradition und Moderne aufzuzeigen.
Wir gratulieren Regisseur Hanxiong Bo zu seinem außergewöhnlichen Film DRIFTING und verleihen ihm den ARTE-Kurzfilmpreis 2020.

 

Beste Produktion:
Panther-Preis

Für Studenten einer Hochschule im europäischen Raum
Stifter: Panther GmbH
Preis: Dolly-Ausstattung für vier Wochen im Wert von 5.000 €


L'HOMME JETÉE

von Loïc Hobi (Regie & Produktion)
École de la Cité, Frankreich

Die Festival-Jury:
Wir freuen uns, den Preis für die beste Produktion an L’HOMME JETÉE verleihen zu dürfen.
Ein Film über die Liebe, der eine ganz besondere und ausdrucksstarke Umgebung portraitiert. Wir gehen auf eine wunderschöne visuelle Reise, die die emotionale Tiefe der Geschichte perfekt zum Ausdruck bringt: unendlich viele Blautöne färben das Bild, die Gesichter der beiden einsamen Männer wirken sinnlich im sanften Licht. Die Wellen der See im Bild bewegen sich auch durch die Geschichte und wühlen die Gefühle der Zuschauer auf, solange bis ihre Herzen in tausend Stücke zerbrechen. Am Schluss können wir mitfühlen mit diesem verliebten Dockarbeiter, der von seinem Geliebten verlassen wurde.

 

Prix Interculturel

Stifter: Interfilm Akademie München
Preis: 2.000 €

Die Interfilm-Jury bestand 2020 aus Pfarrer Eckart Bruchner, Alice Gadbled und Franz Indra.

FOR EUNICE

von Jaan Stevens
RITCS School of Arts, Belgien

Die Interfilm-Jury:
Für Eunice. Das klingt wie ein Geschenk. Ein Geschenk an dieses starke und anrührende Mädchen namens Eunice, das wir in diesem schönen und aufrichtigen Dokumentarfilm beobachten und dabei entdecken, wie das Leben für eine schwarze, übergewichtige Frau in einem fremden Land bereits ist und sein wird. Wir erleben die Grausamkeit zwischen Kindern, angetrieben von bereits bestehenden Vorurteilen. Wir lachen und leiden mit Eunice, dank der feinfühligen und vertrauenerweckenden Regie von Jaan Stevens. Ohne es direkt auszusprechen verbündet uns dieser Kurzfilm, fragt unsere Gesellschaft, warum wir die nächste Generation unter etwas leiden lassen, von dem wir wissen, dass es gestoppt werden sollte.

 

SPECIAL MENTION

DRIFTING

von Hanxiong Bo
University of California, USA

Die Interfilm-Jury:
Während Chinas Ein-Kind-Politik wird Yan von seinen Eltern als Mädchen aufgezogen, um ihn nach außen hin als seine ältere Schwester ausgeben zu können. Als junger Erwachsener muß er gegen die konservativen Vorstellungen seiner Familie um seine Identität kämpfen. Zurückhaltende Inszenierung, feines Schauspiel und Dialoge sowie eine ausgezeichnete Kameraarbeit führen die Auswirkungen der altbekannten Maßnahme auf die Menschen in universeller Art und Weise vor Augen.

 

Originellster Film:
Wolfgang-Längsfeld-Preis

Stifter: Freundeskreis-Wolfgang-Längsfeld e.V.
Preis: 3.000 €




THE DRAGON WITH TWO HEADS

von Páris Cannes
INSAS, Institut National Supérieur des Arts du Spectacle et techniques de diffusion, Belgien

Die Jury des Wolfgang-Längsfeld-Preises:
Der Film beschäftigt sich mit einem besonders wichtigen Thema: der Homophobie in Brasilien. Aber ebenso wesentlich ist, dass er es vermittelt, indem er eine kleine, einfache Geschichte erzählt – eine menschliche Geschichte. Schon in der ersten Einstellung kann man seine kreative, überraschende und kompromisslose Art zu Denken erkennen, die so anders ist, als in der herkömmlichen Filmsprache. Eine absurde Situation entlarvt die trostlose Realität; aber, anstatt die Zuschauer auszuschließen, erzeugen die bunten, dynamischen Bilder eine unbeschwerte, einladende Stimmung. Dieser Kontrast zeigt die faszinierende, einzigartige Perspektive des Filmemachers und erreicht, dass die politische Aussage unaufdringlich aus dem Plot hervorgeht. Dieser mutige, fantasievolle Regisseur gibt wirklich alles, sowohl visuell als auch narrativ, und wir wollen diese Art des Kinos fördern.

 

Publikumspreis

Stifter: Freundeskreis FILMFEST MÜNCHEN
Preis: € 1.500

THE BEST ORCHESTRA IN THE WORLD

von Henning Backhaus
Filmakademie Wien, Österreich

 

Special Mention


FILIPIÑANA

von Rafael Manuel Mendoza
London Film School, Großbritannien

Die Festival-Jury:
Wir möchten für FILIPIÑANA eine Special Mention aussprechen – für seine Originalität, den ungewöhnlichen Tonfall und die unverwechselbare Bildsprache. Indem die Filmemacher Symmetrie und Wiederholung in der eigentümlichen Welt des Golfplatzes herausgearbeitet haben, haben sie es geschafft, ein starkes Gefühl der Jenseitigkeit, des Unbehagens und der Isolation zu erzeugen. Der dynamische und innovative Einsatz von Musik und eine klar strukturierte, markante Kameraarbeit machen diese Arbeit zu einer, die heraussticht.

 

Climate Clips Award

Stifter: Nagelschneider Stiftung
Preis: 1. Platz - 5.000 €, 2. Platz - 3.000 €, 3. Platz - 1.000 €, Publikumspreis - 1.000 €


1. Platz: THE CARFUCKERS
von Josia Brezing
Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg, Deutschland

Die Climate-Clips-Jury:
Ausgerechnet im Rotlichtmilieu wirbt diese Satire in deftigen Worten für den Umstieg aufs Fahrrad — „Ride a bike, fucker!“ — mit harten Fakten aus der Verkehrsstatistik. Im Stil eines Thrillers beginnend nutzt der Clip im Jargon ironisch das Szenario zum Verweis auf Automissbrauch und den „climate change“. Für die gelungene Umsetzung des an uns Alle gerichteten Appells zur Vernunft beglückwünscht die Jury Regisseur und Team zum 1. Preis des originellen Plots.

2. Platz: RELICS
von Yonathan Dumosch und Rotem Ezra
Sapir College, Israel

Die Climate-Clips-Jury:
Eine zauberhafte Animation entführt uns in die Meerestiefe des Ozeans mit einem einsamen Taucher, der sich um verletzte Tiere ihres bedrohten Lebensraumes kümmert. Einen gefundenen Hirsch aus Plastik, trauriges Relikt einer Zivilisation, die nur Schmutz und Müll täglich in die Meere spült, nimmt er für sein Aquarium in trister Unterkunft mit. Die farbenfrohe Unterwasserwelt kontrastiert mit der grauen Großstadtsilhouette einer Oberwelt. Die Jury vergibt den 2. Preis an eine geglückte Animation mit hervorragendem Sound und Originalmusik.

3. Platz: SAFE WATER
von Mario Dahl
Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg, Deutschland

Die Climate-Clips-Jury:
Eine fiktionale Szene zeigt ein kleines Mädchen auf einem Sprungturm bereit zum Absprung in das — wie sich zeigt — Nichts: ein nacktes leeres Schwimmbecken. Das Motto ist so klar wie evident: „No water, no future.“ Das ist in seiner Klarheit kongruent ins Bild gesetzt, zentral, frontal mit Unter-, An- und Aufsicht, in opaken Farbtönen gedreht. In dieser Bündigkeit in kürzester Zeit gedreht verleiht die Jury den 3. Preis an einen überzeugenden Kommentar zu einer der letzten Ressourcen im Klimawandel.

Publikumspreis: THE CARFUCKERS
von Josia Brezing
Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg, Deutschland