Awards & Winners 2010

(€ 7500)
Sponsor: German Royalty Collecting Company of Film & TV Producers Ltd. (VFF)

FOR MADMEN ONLY (TYLKO DLA OBLAKANYCH) 
directed by Pawel Maslona
Krzysztof Kieślowski Radio and Television Faculty University of Silesia (WRITV), Katowice, Poland

The jury: "The award for Best Film goes to FOR MADMEN ONLY for its extraordinary cinematic precision, balanced by subtle and nuanced performances. The quiet desperation of a routine marriage is expressed flawlessly, utilizing all cinematic means available to expose the sadness of perfection."

THE MINUTES, THE HOURS (LOS MINUTOS, LAS HORAS)
directed by Janaína Marques Ribeiro
International Film and Television School of San Antonio de los Baños (EICTV), Cuba

Jury President Dito Tsintsadze: "The Special Award of the Jury President goes to LOS MINUTOS, LAS HORAS for its striking ability to create atmosphere in a cinematic and subtle language."

(ARTE buys the broadcast rights to the film up to € 6000)
Sponsor: ARTE

BOB directed by Jacob Frey and Harry Fast
Baden-Württemberg Film Academy (FABW), Ludwigsburg, Germany

The jury: "The hamster wheel of desire speaks directly to the heart of all of us."

(ARRI Services worth € 4.000)
Sponsor: ARRI - Arnold & Richter Cine Technik 

HOLDING STILL directed by Florian Riegel
Academy of Media Arts Cologne (KHM), Germany

The jury: "Sitting still and watching the world through a lens: we, the cinema audience, do it by choice; the protagonist of this film is forced to do so by a fateful love. HOLDING STILL is about the act of seeing and the difference between internal and external movement. It is not only the best documentary but also one of the best films of the competition."

PREACHER (PREDIKER) directed by Daan van Baelen
Sint-Lukas Brussels, university college of art and design (HSL), Belgium

The jury: "From the very first out-of-focus images, PREACHER is an unsettling cinematic experience. With this Special Mention we would like to encourage the filmmaker to continue with his impassioned experimentation."

(€ 3000)
Sponsor: the family of producer Luggi Waldleitner

Janaína Marques Ribeiro and Pablo Arellano Tintó
for THE MINUTES, THE HOURS (LOS MINUTOS, LAS HORAS)
International Film and Television School of San Antonio de los Baños (EICTV), Cuba

The jury: "The jury awards THE MINUTES, THE HOURS the Best Screenplay Award to celebrate its humanistic storytelling. We honor the filmmaker and her co-author for their work using simple scenes revealing the complex and poetic relationship between mother and daughter."

(€ 1000)
Sponsor: the magazine 'Film & TV Kameramann'

Till Girke for GÖMBÖC
(directed by Ulrike Vahl)
Film and Television University "Konrad Wolf" (HFF/P), Potsdam-Babelsberg, Germany

The jury: "Distances and empty spaces, bleached colors and human figures trying to make connections with each other and their surroundings: the Award for Cinematography in a German Film goes to GÖMBÖC for its artful framing. This film has not only a look; it has a world view."

(the winner is provided a complete line of Panther's state-of-the-art dolly equipment for a period of four weeks, worth € 10.000)
Sponsor: Panther

DANIEL'S ASHES (DANIELS ASCHE) directed by Boris Kunz
University of Television and Film Munich (HFF/M), Germany
Produced by Magdalena Rathmann (HFF Munich) / Kaissar Film in coproduction with Bayerischer Rundfunk

The jury: "Boris Kunz' film shows the different points of view of two families on funerals. The story is profound yet told with plenty of Bavarian humor and is reminiscent of the high quality of certain recent German box office successes. The jury was particularly impressed by the mise-en-scène and Martin Niklas' outstanding camera work."

(€ 5000)
Sponsor: Interfilm Academy Munich

DANIEL'S ASHES (DANIELS ASCHE) directed by Boris Kunz
University of Television and Film Munich (HFF/M), Germany

The jury: "Boris Kunz has made a superb film about the various rituals involved in a family taking leave of a young man. It focuses on the archaic aesthetic and ethical conflicts of two generations and their worldviews as well as on different attitudes toward love, death, the truth and sincerity."

(€ 10,000) 
Sponsor: His Royal Highness Prince Luitpold, Prince of Bavaria

FOR THE TRUE MOMENTS (FÜR DIE EHRLICHEN MOMENTE) 
directed by Stefan Kochert
Baden-Württemberg Film Academy (FABW), Ludwigsburg, Germany

The jury: "Stefan Kochert's commercial FOR THE TRUE MOMENTS convinced us by its credible use of a familiar situation - and it made us chuckle. The idea, the direction and the acting are all excellent. And it has an aspect that is very important in advertizing: it makes us crave for the pleasure of drinking a König Ludwig Dunkel. Congratulations on this superb piece of work."

(€ 5000)
Sponsor: Nagelschneider Foundation

TECHNOLOGIES (TECHNOLOGIEN)
directed by Frederike Wagner und Tina Teucher
International Summer University (ISU), Berlin/Santiago de Chile

The jury: "Frederike Wagner and Tina Teucher succeed in depicting the triumph of new technologies in the renewable energy sector in less than two minutes. Their clip uses irony and creative editing in contrasting negative statements by erstwhile opponents with images and positive statistics that prove just how wrong they were. The jury found it concise and exceptionally persuasive. We congratulate the winners of the 3rd Climate Clip Award!"

Preise und Preisträger 2010

7500 €
Stifter: VFF Verwertungsgesellschaft der Film- und Fernsehproduzenten

FOR MADMEN ONLY (TYLKO DLA OBLAKANYCH) 
von Pawel Maslona
Wydzial Radia i Telewizji im. Krzysztofa Kieœlowskiego Uniwersytetu Śląskiego (WRITV), Katowice, Polen

Die Jury: "Der Preis für den besten Film geht an FOR MADMEN ONLY - für seine Balance zwischen außergewöhnlicher filmischer Präzision und subtilen, nuancierten schauspielerischen Leistungen. Der Film nutzt alle verfügbaren Mittel, um die stille Verzweiflung einer in Routine erstarrten Ehe perfekt zu beschreiben und die Traurigkeit offenzulegen, die in der Perfektion verborgen sein kann."

LOS MINUTOS, LAS HORAS (THE MINUTES, THE HOURS)
von Janaína Marques Ribeiro
Escuela Internacional de Cine y TV de San Antonio de los Baños (EICTV), Kuba

Jury-Präsident Dito Tsintsadze: "Der Film LOS MINUTOS, LAS HORAS zeigt eindrucksvoll die Fähigkeit der Regisseurin, in einer subtilen filmischen Sprache Stimmungen zu schaffen."

(Ankauf des Films bis 6000 €)
Stifter: Fernsehsender ARTE

BOB von Jacob Frey und Harry Fast
Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg (FABW), Ludwigsburg, Deutschland

Die Jury: "Das Abstrampeln im Hamsterrad der Sehnsucht ist ein Bild, das uns alle unmittelbar im Herzen berührt."

(ARRI-Sachleistungen im Wert von 4000 €) 
Stifter: ARRI - Arnold & Richter Cine Technik 

HOLDING STILL von Florian Riegel
Kunsthochschule für Medien Köln (KHM), Deutschland

Die Jury: "Stillsitzen und die Welt durch ein Objektiv beobachten - als Kinobesucher tun wir das alle freiwillig. Der Protagonistin dieses Films bleibt seit einer verhängnisvollen Beziehung keine andere Möglichkeit mehr. HOLDING STILL beschäftigt sich mit dem Sehen an sich und dem Unterschied zwischen innerer und äußerer Bewegung. HOLDING STILL ist nicht nur der beste Dokumentarfilm, sondern auch einer der besten Filme des Wettbewerbs."

PREACHER (PREDIKER) von Daan van Baelen
Hogeschool Sint-Lukas, Brüssel (HSL), Belgien

Die Jury: "Von den ersten unscharfen Bildern an ist PREACHER eine verstörendes Kinoerlebnis. Mit dieser 'Besonderen Erwähnung' möchten wir den Filmemacher Daan van Baelen ermutigen, seiner leidenschaftlichen Experimentierbereitschaft auch in Zukunft nachzugehen."

(3000 €)
Stifter: Die Familie des Produzenten Luggi Waldleitner

Janaína Marques Ribeiro und Pablo Arellano Tintó
für LOS MINUTOS, LAS HORAS (THE MINUTES, THE HOURS)
Escuela Internacional de Cine y TV de San Antonio de los Baños (EICTV), Kuba

Die Jury: "Mit dem Preis für das beste Drehbuch würdigt die Jury die zutiefst humane Erzählweise in LOS MINUTOS, LAS HORAS. Vor allem für ihre Darstellung der komplexen und poetischen Beziehung zwischen einer Mutter und ihrer Tochter mit ganz einfachen Szenen verdienen die Filmemacherin und ihr Co-Autor diese Auszeichnung.

(1000 €)
Stifter: Zeitschrift 'Film & TV Kameramann'

Till Girke für GÖMBÖC
(Regie: Ulrike Vahl)
Hochschule für Film und Fernsehen "Konrad Wolf" (HFF/P), Potsdam-Babelsberg

Die Jury: "Entfernungen und leere Räume, ausgebleichte Farben und Gestalten, die versuchen, untereinander und mit ihrer Umgebung Verbindungen herzustellen. Für seine kunstvollen Einstellungen erhält GÖMBÖC den Preis für die beste Kamera in einem deutschen Film. GÖMBÖC hat nicht nur einen Look, sondern eine Weltsicht."

(komplette Panther-Dolly-Ausstattung für vier Wochen im Wert von 10.000 €)
Stifter: Panther GmbH

DANIELS ASCHE
von Boris Kunz (Buch & Regie)
Hochschule für Fernsehen und Film München (HFF/M)
Produzenten: Magdalena Rathmann (HFF München) / Kaissar Film in Koproduktion mit dem Bayerischen Rundfunk

Die Jury: "Der Film von Boris Kunz verdeutlicht die unterschiedlichen Ansichten zweier Familien zum Thema Begräbnis. Die tiefgründige Geschichte wird mit viel bayerischem Humor erzählt und erinnert an die hohe Qualität manch erfolgreicher, deutscher Filme der jungen Vergangenheit. Die Jury war beeindruckt von der Inszenierung wie auch von der hervorragenden Arbeit des Kameramanns Martin Niklas."

(5000 €)
Stifter: Interfilm Akademie München

DANIELS ASCHE von Boris Kunz
Hochschule für Fernsehen und Film München (HFF/M), Deutschland

Die Jury: "Boris Kunz gelingt eine ritualkritische Studie über verschiedene Formen des Abschiedsnehmens betroffener Familien von einem 25-Jährigen. Der Film fokussiert auf ästhetische und ethische archaische Konflikte zwischen Generationen und Weltanschauungen, zwischen Liebe, Tod und Aufrichtigkeit."

(10.000 €) 
Stifter: Seine Königliche Hoheit Prinz Luitpold von Bayern

FÜR DIE EHRLICHEN MOMENTE von Stefan Kochert
Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg (FABW), Ludwigsburg, Deutschland

Die Jury: "Stefan Kocherts Werbefilm FÜR DIE EHRLICHEN MOMENTE überzeugt durch die stimmige Umsetzung einer Alltagssituation, die leise zum Schmunzeln anzuregen vermag. Eine optimal inszenierte Idee verknüpft mit hervorragender schauspielerischer Leistung. Und unter dem Aspekt der Werbung von besonderer Bedeutung: Der Spot macht große Lust auf den Genuss eines 'König Ludwig Dunkel'. Herzlichen Glückwunsch zu dieser hervorragenden Arbeit!"

(5000 €)
Stifter: Nagelschneider Stiftung

TECHNOLOGIEN von Frederike Wagner und Tina Teucher
Internationale Sommeruniversität (ISU), Berlin/Santiago de Chile

Die Jury: "Frederike Wagner und Tina Teucher verstehen es, in weniger als zwei Minuten den Siegeszug der neuen Technologien im Bereich der Erneuerbaren Energien gegen alle Widerstände zu verdeutlichen. Skeptische Voraussagen und Statements ihrer einstigen Gegner konfrontieren sie ironisch mit Erfolgsstatistiken dieser Technologien mit gekonnten Einblendungen und rasantem Schnitt. Das Thema wird kurz, prägnant und überzeugend abgehandelt. Wir gratulieren den Gewinnerinnen des zum dritten Mal verliehenen Klimafilme-Preises!"