Award winners 2018


Award Ceremony in the Photo Diary

Best Film:
VFF Young Talent Award

Sponsor: VFF Verwertungsgesellschaft der Film- und Fernsehproduzenten mbH
Prize: 10,000 €

EXCUSE ME, I'M LOOKING FOR THE PING-PONG ROOM AND MY GIRLFRIEND

by Bernhard Wenger
UMDK, Filmakademie Wien, Austria

Rupert Höller and Bernhard Wenger with Prof. Dr. Norbert P. Flechsig (VFF)

The Jury:
"We were captivated throughout this unusual journey of self-discovery of a very inactive antihero. The camera work perfectly captures the main character’s journey, often static, occasionally distant. Set in the vacuum of a remote holiday resort, the vastness of space throughout its design gives us an impression of what the character must be feeling. All supported by a subtle yet effective use of comedy in the screenplay. Skillful in all segments, this collective achievement led by a talented director deserves all praise."

 

SPECIAL MENTION BY THE JURY PRESIDENT:

LANDING

by Wong Kam
HKAPA, The Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts – School of Film and Television

Jury president Philip Gröning with director Wong Kam

 

The Jury:
"We have seen many films. Many. And we have seen many, many films of outstanding quality. We were happy with this, and we were unhappy with it. Why unhappy? Because we had far fewer awards than outstanding films. We were cornered by good films, one could say. I therefore decided to give an additional award which again cannot go to all the outstanding works we saw, but please take it as a symbol of the level of the competition. This award, the jury president’s special mention, goes to a film of great depth, complexity and tenderness. A daring mixture of inner visions and precise outside-world observation, a film loving a main character who is shunned and despised. A character floating through life and space while adding yet another level of overweight to her body. In this film, fat is a spacesuit, a deeply needed layer of protection against an outside world that seems more hostile than outer space to the character caught in denial. Relevant, concise, deeply human, aesthetically fully achieved. I am honored to give the jury president’s special mention to LANDING."

 

Best Script:
Luggi Waldleitner-Award

Sponsor: Family Waldleitner
Prize: 3,000 €

WARM COMEDY ABOUT DEPRESSION, MADNESS AND UNFULFILLED DREAMS

by Michal Ďuriš, Sophia Boyd & Emil Smoliga
VSMU, Academy of Performing Arts in Bratislava, Slovakia
Trailer

The Jury:
"In only 20 minutes, the writers manage to create fully rounded characters who subtly tell us about the fragility of their family life. It is obvious to the jury that the collective who worked on this screenplay understand and empathize with their characters. Together this family of four forms its own unique and seemingly dysfunctional universe. We learn that through their own quirks and faults, they are each other’s healing factors in their search for happiness. The truth and creativity put into this screenplay are commendable, and the love that seeps through the story is nearly tangible, which cannot give us anything but hope."

 

Best Documentary:
ARRI-Award

Sponsor: Arnold & Richter Cine Technik
Prize: 4,000 € worth of rental services by ARRI

SON OF WIND

by David Noblet
INSAS, Institut National Supérieur des Arts du Spectacle et Techniques de Diffusion, Belgium

The Jury:
"Documentary filmmaking is a mysterious process. What does it require? Delicacy. Patience. Humility. Love. Awareness. Attention to the slightest ripples passing over water or through the soul. What is the goal, then? Fragility is at the center of it. Creating the most fragile, floating images and memories in the viewer. Permitting the viewer to open up to his or her most delicate perception and to cherish this capacity of seeing things anew. In this film the camera follows the routine of life with such utmost delicacy, with a tenderness so great, that even the loneliness of the main character transforms into a deep sense of security. Hardly anything happens. A pebble is thrown through a tube. A plant is seen breaking through the ground. Images of deeply feeling at home. A boy. A grandfather. Changing light and a father’s homecoming being canceled. That is all. And it made us all in the jury deeply happy! And making an audience happy with nothing, with fleeting hints and moments of sheer perception is what a good documentary is all about. This film did it. The jury is therefore honored to give the best documentary award to SON OF WIND. "

 

Best Camera:
Student Camera Award

Sponsor: Film & TV Kamera
Prize: 2,000 €

END OF SEASON

Cem Demirer 
LFS, London Film School, UK
Trailer

The Student Camera Award winner Cem Demirer (END OF SEASON, right) together with Uwe Agnes from FILM UND TV KAMERA

 

The Jury:
"The jury was convinced of the ability of the cinematographer to convey in an admirable way in color, shades and camera movement, the sorrow of the autumn season and the twilight of the main character’s life. Congratulations from the jury to Cem Demirer for END OF SEASON! "

 

Best Animation:
zweiB Award

Sponsor: zweiB GmbH
Prize: prize money of € 1,000 and a professional DCP-Mastering (worth € 1,500)

FACING IT

by Sam Gainsborough
NFTS, The National Film and Television School, UK
Trailer

The winner of the zweiB AWARD for the best animation Sam Gainsborough (FACING IT) with jury members Asja Krsmanović, Sinje Köhler and Tice Oakfield


The Jury:
"The award for best animation goes to a film that brings us a well-nuanced story about a man’s reminiscence and his relationships with others. The director has created a specific inner world of the character and brought it to life with skillful animation and imaginative visual choices. Through a mix of stop-motion animation and live action, clay becomes the material that is permanently transforming, never managing to take on its original form, just as the main character is constantly being transformed by the influences of others. Congratulations to Sam Gainsborough for FACING IT."

 

ARTE-Shortfilm-Award

Sponsor: Arte
Prize: Arte buys the broadcast rights to a film (fictional genre) no longer than 15 minutes for up to € 6,000

SCHOOLYARD BLUES

by Maria Eriksson Hecht
SU, Stockholm University of the Arts, Sweden
Trailer

Maria Eriksson Hecht won the ARTE Short Film Award for SCHOOLYARD BLUES. In her absence the protagonist of the film, Olle Frelin accepted the award from Barbara Häbe on Maria's behalf


The Jury of the ARTE-Shortfilm-Award (Barbara Häbe and team):
"A deeply moving story about two brothers in which the older brother prepares the younger for his time at school and for life itself. Taking up the current subject of violence among adolescents, the two excellent young leading actors perform their way into viewers’ hearts. This short bit of cinema could readily be turned into a long feature film. We congratulate filmmaker Maria Eriksson Hecht on receiving the 2018 ARTE Short Film Award."

 

Best Production:
Panther-Award

For students of a European university
Sponsor: Panther GmbH
Prize: Panther's state-of-the-art dolly equipment for a period of four weeks worth 5,000 €

ROSE GARDEN

by Hannu-Pekka Peltomaa
ELO, Film School Helsinki, Finland

Director Hannu-Pekka Peltomaa with the Festival jury

The Panther-Award Jury:
"This dark comedy about a colorful alliance of three friends against the bleak backdrop of a nursing home has captivated our hearts. The underlying message expressed in the dreams of our heroic group transcends a stark characterization of the elderly and offers sharp criticism of a world in which criminals receive better treatment than the elderly. Much praise for the excellent camera work, which makes this sterile space exciting to watch for the entire film, and the exceptional timing in the choreography of the ensemble, which results in well- deserved laugh-out-loud moments in the cinema."

 

Prix Interculturel

Sponsor: Interfilm Akademie München
Prize: 1,500 €

SIREN

by Zara Dwinger
NFA, Netherlands Film Academy

Zara Dwinger won the Prix Interculturel for her film SIREN. Here she is with the Interfilm-Jury: Johannes Sternagel, Dr. Peter Marinkovic, Susan Gordanshekan and Radmila Besic


The Interfilm Jury:
"SIREN subtly portrays a young person’s search for identity while giving its characters plenty of space. The film captivates us with its intense atmosphere and layered characters who are portrayed by emotionally engaging actors and actresses. The director covers a subject important to society, siding with those in search of their gender and delivering a message about accepting oneself and others." 

 

Most original film:
Wolfgang-Längsfeld-Award

Sponsor: Freundeskreis-Wolfgang-Längsfeld e.V.
Prize: 3,000 €

SIMON CRIES

von Sergio Guataquira Sarmiento
IAD, L'Institut des arts de diffusion Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgien
Trailer

Sergio Guataquira Sarmiento receives his award

The Jury of the Wolfgang-Längsfeld-Award:
"SIMON CRIES is a courageous film. This highly original short surprises viewers with a cascade of outstanding visuals, which in their poetic lightness and photographic brilliance are immediately reminiscent of the surreal cinema of Jean-Pierre Jeunet and Wes Anderson. Yet the director and his team untether themselves from their sources of inspiration by finding their own cinematic language, to which they remain true in impressive stylistic awareness — from the funny and original beginning in a train compartment that represents a relationship to the romantic but not at all cheesy ending in a swimming pool. And when the underwater camera is upside down and two divers start to fly through a sea of tears, what you’re seeing isn’t a random idea by a director; rather, it’s but one of the many beautiful and precise visual metaphors you are enjoying because you are watching SIMON PLEURE! "

 

Audience Award

Sponsor: Freundeskreis FILMFEST MÜNCHEN
Prize: € 1,500

FLOOD

von Oshri Zeituni
MFA, Minshar School for Art Tel Aviv, Israel

Producer Or Elsaesser, director Oshri Zeituni and artistic director Tal Ziv

 

Climate Clips Award

Sponsor: Nagelschneider Stiftung
Prize: 1. Prize - 5,000 €, 2. Prize - 3,000 €, 3. Prize - 1,000 €

The winners: Veronika Hafner and Rina Zimmering (THE MEETING)

 

1. Prize: THE MEETING
by Veronika Hafner & Rina Zimmering
HFF München, Germany

The Climate-Clips-Jury:
"“There won’t be any problems with the air-conditioning this time.” With these words, a team leader (Jake) starts a pre-production brainstorming session for a commercial to fight global warming. After the “cut”, he ends the meeting by telling an employee who’s generating electricity, “You can stop cycling now.” Endangered species (pandas) in China and melting ice in the Arctic (polar bears) are to be the focus of the commercial. Everyone agrees to fly a photographer (Rodrigo) from Buenos Aires to Chengdong and to send a second unit to the Arctic with a stopover in a national park. Subtle humor is used to record a scenario that pokes fun at buzzwords used in public discourse about the climate (saving energy, preserving the environment) and that meticulously documents its own consumption (“12 people cycling for 11 hours to generate the electricity needed,” “208 kg of equipment transported via bike rickshaw,” “two trees planted”) in order to conclude: “You have just seen the first carbon-neutral climate clip ever made.” We judges were delighted by the staging, humor and self-mockery. We would like to congratulate the first-prize recipients of the Climate Clips Award. "

2. Prize: OUT OF SIGHT
by Dora Filipovic & Bojan Brbora

The Climate-Clips-Jury:
"A young woman in a bikini wades into the glittering, crystal-clear water of a picturesque lake. She finishes drinking from a plastic bottle and throws it into the water. Instead of sinking, it rises up to become part of a gigantic cloud of plastic garbage in the sky. The cost of a common act of carelessness defies gravity and the laws of physics to cover the sky. This is a metaphorical warning that the plastic garbage accumulating in rivers, lakes, and oceans is a growing threat to the environment and to all life: “The time to act is now.” This threat, like climate change, is man-made: “Just because you can’t see it, doesn’t mean it’s not there.” With this scenic footage of nature apparently in balance, this clip attempts to imagine the threat lurking within this idyllic location. The jury offers its congratulations to the recipients of the second prize for this thought-provoking look at a common practice with global consequences. "

3. Prize: THE ICE IS MELTING
by Joe Richter
Institute of Design, Hamburg, Germany

The Climate-Clips-Jury:
"Tempted by an ice-cream stand at a summer fair, a little girl walks up and demands an ice-cream cone, which she receives with a smile: “Here you go.” The camera shows her face in an extreme close-up that reflects her bitter disappointment: the ice cream, which was solid a moment ago, is melting, running down the cone and across her hands. She can’t believe it! In 23 seconds, this clip manages to metaphorically reduce the topic of climate change to one of its vital and most blatant symptoms: “The ice is melting.” Short and sweet! Countless photos from news reports about the Arctic flash by. The jury congratulates the recipient of our third prize on his successful attempt to give the youngest viewers a symbolic visualization of what is happening."

 

Hofbräu Trophy

Sponsor: Staatliches Hofbräuhaus in München
Prize: 1. Prize - 5,000 €, 2. Prize - 3,000 €, 3. Prize - 2,000 €

Dr. Möller (HB), Julius Montgomerie Luger, Rupert Höller and Bernhard Wenger (from left to right)

 

1. Prize: THE BEERBOARD
by Julius Montgomerie Luger, Clemens Friese & Mike Schneider
LMU München, Germany

2. Prize: LIQUIDS OF LIFE
by Rupert Höller & Bernhard Wenger
UMDK, Filmakademie Wien, Austria

3. Prize: DECISIONS
by Rupert Höller & Bernhard Wenger
UMDK, Filmakademie Wien, Austria

Preisträger 2018


Bilder von der Preisverleihung im Foto-Tagebuch

Bester Film:
VFF Young Talent Award

Stifter: VFF Verwertungsgesellschaft der Film- und Fernsehproduzenten mbH
Preis: 10.000 €

EXCUSE ME, I'M LOOKING FOR THE PING-PONG ROOM AND MY GIRLFRIEND

von Bernhard Wenger
UMDK, Filmakademie Wien, Österreich

Rupert Höller und Bernhard Wenger mit Prof. Dr. Norbert P. Flechsig (VFF)


Die Festival Jury:
"Wir waren fasziniert von dieser ungewöhnlichen Reise der Selbstfindung eines sehr inaktiven Antihelden. Die Kamera hält diese Reise der Hauptfigur perfekt fest, oft statisch, manchmal distanziert. Im Vakuum eines abgelegenen Ferienortes gelegen, vermittelt uns die Weite des Raumes in seinem gesamten Design einen Eindruck davon, was der Charakter fühlen muss. Unterstützt von einem subtilen, aber äußerst wirkungsvollen Einsatz von Komödiantischem im Drehbuch. Diese kollektive Leistung, die in allen Bereichen herausragend ist und von einem talentierten Regisseur geleitet wird, verdient größtes Lob. "

 

SPECIAL MENTION DES JURYPRÄSIDENTEN:

LANDING

von Wong Kam
HKAPA, The Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts – School of Film and Television

Jurypräsident Philip Gröning mit Regisseur Wong Kam

 

Die Festival-Jury:
"Wir haben viele Filme gesehen. Viele. Und wir haben viele, viele Filme herausragender Qualität gesehen. Wir waren damit glücklich, und wir waren unglücklich damit. Weshalb unglücklich? Weil wir viel weniger Preise als herausragenden Filme hatten. Wir wurden von guten Filmen in die Ecke getrieben, könnte man sagen. Ich habe deshalb entschieden, eine zusätzliche Ehrung zu verleihen, die leider nicht an alle herausragenden Werke verliehen werden kann, aber verstehen Sie diese Special Mention bitte als stellvertretende Würdigung für das Niveau des gesamten Wettbewerbs. Diese Auszeichnung, die besondere Erwähnung durch den Jurypräsidenten, geht an einen Film, der von großem Tiefsinn, von Vielschichtigkeit und Zärtlichkeit zeugt. Eine mutige Mischung aus inneren Bildern und einer präzisen Beobachtung der Außenwelt, ein Film, der eine Hauptfigur liebt, die geächtet und verachtet ist. Eine Figur, die durchs Leben und durch den Raum schwebt, während sie ihrem Körper eine weitere Ballastschicht zufügt. Fett erscheint in diesem Film als Raumanzug, eine unentbehrliche Schutzschicht vor einer Außenwelt, die aus der Perspektive einer Figur, die sich der Realität verschließt, lebensfeindlicher als der Weltraum erscheint. Relevant, auf den Punkt gebracht, zutiefst menschlich, ästhetisch eine großartige Leistung. Es ist mir eine Ehre, die besondere Erwähnung durch den Jurypräsidenten an den Film LANDING zu vergeben."

 

Bestes Drehbuch:
Luggi Waldleitner-Preis

Stifter: Familie Waldleitner
Preis: 3.000 €

WARM COMEDY ABOUT DEPRESSION, MADNESS AND UNFULFILLED DREAMS

von Michal Ďuriš (Regie & Drehbuch), Sophia Boyd & Emil Smoliga (Co-Autoren Drehbuch)
VSMU, Academy of Performing Arts in Bratislava, Slowakei
Trailer

Die Festival-Jury:
"In nur 20 Minuten schaffen es die Autoren, vollkommen abgerundete Charaktere zu erschaffen, die uns subtil von der Zerbrechlichkeit ihres Familienlebens erzählen. Für die Jury ist es offensichtlich, dass das Kollektiv, das an diesem Drehbuch gearbeitet hat, seine Figuren versteht und mit ihnen fühlt. Zusammen bildet diese vierköpfige Familie ein einzigartiges, scheinbar dysfunktionales Universum. Doch wir lernen, dass sie durch ihre Eigenarten und Fehler die Heilung des jeweils anderen auf dessen Suche nach Glück ermöglichen. Die Wahrheit und Kreativität, die in diesem Drehbuch steckt, ist bemerkenswert, und die Liebe, die die Geschichte durchdringt, ist fast greifbar, so dass sie uns mit großer Hoffnung zurücklässt."

 

Bester Dokumentarfilm:
ARRI-Award

Stifter: Arnold & Richter Cine Technik
Preis: Sachleistungen-Rental ARRI im Wert von 4.000 €

SON OF WIND

von David Noblet
INSAS, Institut National Supérieur des Arts du Spectacle et Techniques de Diffusion, Belgien

Die Festival-Jury:
"Dokumentarfilme zu drehen ist ein mysteriöser Prozess. Was gehört dazu? Zärtlichkeit. Geduld. Bescheidenheit. Liebe. Bewusstsein. Die Beachtung kleinster Wellen, die übers Wasser oder durch die Seele rollen. Was ist also das Ziel? Es geht um Zerbrechlichkeit. Zerbrechlichste schwebenden Bilder und Erinnerungen im Kopf des Zuschauers zu erschaffen. Dem Zuschauer oder der Zuschauerin zu gestatten, sich seiner oder ihrer feinfühligsten Betrachtungsweise zu öffnen und diese Fähigkeit, die Dinge aufs Neue zu betrachten, zu schätzen. In diesem Film zeigt die Kamera den Lebensalltag mit solchem Feingefühl, mit so großer Zärtlichkeit, dass selbst die Einsamkeit der Hauptfigur sich in tiefe Geborgenheit verwandelt. Kaum etwas passiert. Ein Kieselstein wird durch eine Röhre geworfen. Eine Pflanze durchbricht die Erde. Bilder eines tiefen Heimatgefühls. Ein Junge. Ein Großvater. Das Licht ändert sich und die Rückkehr des Vaters wird abgesagt. Das ist alles. Und das machte uns allen in der Jury zutiefst glücklich! Einem Publikum mit nichts glücklich zu machen, mit flüchtigen Andeutungen und Augenblicken der puren Wahrnehmung: darum geht es in einem guten Dokumentarfilm. Dieser Film hat das geschafft. Es ist der Jury deshalb eine Ehre, den Preis für den besten Dokumentarfilm an SON OF WIND zu verleihen."

 

Beste Kamera:
Student Camera Award

Stifter: Film & TV Kamera
Preis: 2.000 €

END OF SEASON

Cem Demirer 
LFS, London Film School, UK
Trailer

Gewinner Cem Demirer (END OF SEASON, rechts) mit Uwe Agnes von FILM UND TV KAMERA

 
Die Festival-Jury:
"Die Jury war überzeugt von der Fähigkeit des DoP uns mit Farben, Schattierungen und Kamerabewegungen in bewundernswerter Weise die Melancholie des Herbstes und die Zwiespältigkeit der Hauptfigur zu vermitteln. Die Jury gratuliert Cem Demirer für seine Bildgestaltung bei END OF SEASON."

 

Beste Animation:
zweiB Award

Stifter: zweiB GmbH
Preis: Preisgeld von € 1.000 und ein professionelles DCP-Mastering (im Wert von ca. € 1.500)

FACING IT

von Sam Gainsborough
NFTS, The National Film and Television School, UK
Trailer

Der Preisträger des zweiB AWARD für die beste Animation Sam Gainsborough (FACING IT) mit den Jurymitgliedern Asja Krsmanović, Sinje Köhler und Tice Oakfield


Die Festival-Jury:
"Der Preis für die beste Animation geht an einen Film, der uns eine nuancierte Geschichte über die Erinnerungen eines Mannes und seine Beziehungen zu anderen erzählt. Der Regisseur erschafft eine ganz besondere Innenwelt der Figur und erweckt sie mit einer gekonnten Animation und phantasievollen visuellen Gestaltung zum Leben. Durch eine Mischung aus Stop-Motion-Animation und Live-Action wird Ton zu einem Material, das sich ständig verändert und es nie schafft, die ursprüngliche Form anzunehmen, so wie die Hauptfigur ständig durch die Einflüsse anderer verändert wird. Herzlichen Glückwunsch an Sam Gainsborough für FACING IT."

 

ARTE-Kurzfilmpreis

Stifter: arte Television
Preis: Ankauf eines Films bis max. 15 Minuten Länge und bis 6.000 €

SCHOOLYARD BLUES

von Maria Eriksson Hecht
SU, Stockholm University of the Arts, Schweden
Trailer

Den ARTE-Kurzfilmpreis gewann Maria Eriksson Hecht für SCHOOLYARD BLUES. Den Preis entgegen genommen hat der Hautpdarsteller Olle Frelin, hier zusammen mit Barbara Häbe von ARTE

 

Die Jury des ARTE-Kurzfilmpreises (Barbara Häbe und Team):
"Eine tief berührende Geschichte über zwei Brüder, in der der ältere Bruder den Jüngeren auf das Schulleben und das Leben an sich vorbereitet. Mit dem aktuellen Thema der Gewalt unter den Heranwachsenden spielen die beiden jungen exzellenten Hauptdarsteller sich in das Herz des Zuschauers. Ein kurzes Stück Kino, das sich auch gerne in einen langen Spielfilm verwandeln könnte. Wir gratulieren der Filmemacherin Maria Eriksson Hecht zu dem ARTE Kurzfilmpreis 2018."

 

Beste Produktion:
Panther-Preis

Für Studenten einer Hochschule im europäischen Raum
Stifter: Panther GmbH
Preis: Dolly-Ausstattung für vier Wochen im Wert von 5.000 €

ROSE GARDEN

von Hannu-Pekka Peltomaa
ELO, Film School Helsinki, Finnland

Regisseur Hannu-Pekka Peltomaa mit der Festival-Jury

Die Panther-Preis-Jury:
"Diese rabenschwarze Komödie über ein ungewöhnliches Bündnis dreier Freunde vor der trostlosen Leinwand eines Pflegeheims hat uns bezaubert. Die Kernbotschaft der Träume unserer heroischen Gruppe geht weit über eine schlichte Charakterisierung der älteren Menschen hinaus und kritisiert in aller Schärfe eine Welt, in der Kriminelle besser behandelt werden als Senioren. Dabei geht ein großes Lob an die exzellente Bildgestaltung, die es schafft, dass dieser sterile Raum über den gesamten Film hinweg spannend anzuschauen ist, und an das außergewöhnliche Timing und die Choreographie des Ensembles, die das Publikum immer wieder laut lachen lassen."

 

Prix Interculturel

Stifter: Interfilm Akademie München
Preis: 1.500 €

SIREN

von Zara Dwinger
NFA, Netherlands Film Academy

Prix Interculturel Preisträgerin Zara Dwinger (SIREN) mit der Interfilm-Jury: Johannes Sternagel, Dr. Peter Marinkovic, Susan Gordanshekan und Radmila Besic

 

Die Interfilm-Jury:
"SIREN portraitiert subtil die Identitätssuche eines jungen Menschen und lässt dabei seinen Figuren viel Freiraum. Der Film besticht durch seine atmosphärische Dichte und die vielschichtigen Charaktere, die durch emotional einnehmende Schauspieler verkörpert werden. Die Regisseurin behandelt ein gesellschaftlich wichtiges Thema, sie ergreift Partei für diejenigen, die auf der Suche nach ihrer Geschlechtszugehörigkeit sind und erzählt von der Akzeptanz sich selbst und anderen gegenüber." 

 

Originellster Film:
Wolfgang-Längsfeld-Preis

Stifter: Freundeskreis-Wolfgang-Längsfeld e.V.
Preis: 3.000 €

SIMON CRIES

von Sergio Guataquira Sarmiento
IAD, L'Institut des arts de diffusion Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgien
Trailer

Sergio Guataquira Sarmiento erhält den Wolfgang-Längsfeld-Preis

Die Jury des Wolfgang-Längsfeld-Preises:
"SIMON CRIES ist ein mutiger Film. Der hochoriginelle Kurzfilm überrascht mit einem Feuerwerk außergewöhnlicher Bilder, die in ihrer poetischen Leichtigkeit und fotografischen Brillanz direkt an das surreale Kino von Jean-Pierre Jeunet und Wes Anderson denken lassen. Aber der Regisseur und sein Team lassen die Fesseln ihrer Vorbilder hinter sich indem sie ihre eigene Bildsprache finden, der sie mit beeindruckender Stilsicherheit treu bleiben – vom komischen und originellen Anfang in einem beziehungs-repräsentierenden Zugabteil bis hin zum zutiefst romantischen, aber keineswegs kitschigen Schwimmbad-Ende. Und wenn die Unterwasserkamera Kopf steht und zwei Taucher anfangen, durch ein Meer aus Tränen zu fliegen, dann ist das kein zufälliger Regieeinfall – dann ist das nur eine von vielen wunderschönen und präzisen visuellen Metaphern an denen Sie sich erfreuen, weil Sie SIMON PLEURE sehen!"

 

Publikumspreis

Stifter: Freundeskreis FILMFEST MÜNCHEN
Preis: € 1.500

FLOOD

von Oshri Zeituni
MFA, Minshar School for Art Tel Aviv, Israel

FLOOD bekommt den Publikumspreis: Produzentin Or Elsaesser, Regisseurin Oshri Zeituni und Artistic Director Tal Ziv

 

Climate Clips Award

Stifter: Nagelschneider Stiftung
Preis: 1. Platz - 5.000 €, 2. Platz - 3.000 €, 3. Platz - 1.000 €

Die Gewinnerinnen des Climate Clips Award Veronika Hafner und Rina Zimmering (THE MEETING)


1. Platz: THE MEETING
von Veronika Hafner & Rina Zimmering
HFF München, Deutschland

Die Climate-Clips-Jury:
"“There won’t be any problem with the air conditioning this time” – so eröffnet der Teamleiter [Jake] das Preproduction-Brainstorming eines Werbespots zum Thema Global Warming. Er beendet die Sitzung nach dem „cut“ mit der Weisung für einen Strom-generierenden Mitarbeiter „You can stop cycling now.” Bedrohte Tierarten [Pandas] in China oder die Eisschmelze in der Arktis [Polarbears] stehen im Fokus. Man ist sich einig, der Fotograf [Rodrigo] wird von Buenos Aires nach Chendu geflogen und eine 2. Unit begibt sich in die Arktis, mit einem Zwischenstop im National Park. Mit subtilem Humor wird hier ein Szenario filmisch festgehalten, das Schlagworte des Diskurses über Klima (Energiesparen, Umweltschonung) satirisch aufspießt und akribisch den eigenen Verbrauch dokumentiert [„12 people cycling for 11 hours to generate the electricity needed“ und „208 kg of equipment transported via bike rickshaw -2 trees planted“] mit dem Fazit: „You have just seen the first carbon neutral climate clip ever made.“ Inszenierung, Witz und Selbstironie haben uns Juroren begeistert. Wir gratulieren herzlich den Gewinnerinnen des ersten Preises bei den Climate Clips. "

2. Platz: OUT OF SIGHT
von Dora Filipovic & Bojan Brbora

Die Climate-Clips-Jury:
"Eine idyllische Seenlandschaft: eine junge Frau im Bikini watet durch das glitzernde, glasklare Wasser. Achtlos wirft sie ihre gerade geleerte Plastikflasche ins Wasser und sieht wie diese statt zu versinken sich mit einer riesigen Wolke aus Plastikmüll am Himmel vereinigt. Eine oft praktizierte Gedankenlosigkeit, doch hier verbündet sich ihre Folge wider die Schwerkraft und alle Physik imaginär mit dem Himmel. Im metaphorischen Sinn eine Mahnung, dass der in Flüssen, Seen und Meer sich sammelnde Plastikmüll Natur und Leben zunehmend bedroht: „The Time to act is now“. Und er ist vom Menschen gemacht - wie der Klimawandel: „Just because You can’t see it, does’nt mean its not there.“ In der schönen Aufnahme einer scheinbar heilen Natur sucht der Clip, die dieser Idylle innewohnende Gefahr zu imaginieren. Die Jury gratuliert mit einem 2ten Preis den Gewinnern sehr herzlich zu einem nachdenklichen Blick auf eine alltägliche Praxis mit globalen Folgen."

3. Platz: THE ICE IS MELTING
von Joe Richter
Institute of Design, Hamburg, Deutschland

Die Climate-Clips-Jury:
"Buden eines sommerlichen Jahrmarkts mit einem verlockenden Eisstand. Ein kleines Mädchen steuert darauf zu und verlangt ein Eis, das der freundliche Eisverkäufer ihr hinausreicht: „here you go,…“ Die Kamera zeigt ihr Gesicht ganz nahe im close up und spiegelt ihre bittere Enttäuschung: das eben noch kompakte Eis löst sich auf, tropft an der Waffel herunter und läuft ihr über die Hände. Sie kann es nicht fassen! In 23 Sekunden schafft es dieser Clip, den Klimawandel metaphorisch auf eines seiner entscheidenden und offenkundigsten Symptome zu reduzieren: „das Eis schmilzt“. Kurz und bündig! So ziehen unzählige Fotos aus Reportagen über die Arktis an unseren Augen vorbei. Die Jury gratuliert dem Gewinner des 3ten Preises zu seinem geglückten Versuch, schon bei den Jüngsten symbolisch das Geschehen zu visualisieren."

 

Hofbräu Trophy

Stifter: Staatliches Hofbräuhaus in München
Preis: 1. Platz - 5.000 €, 2. Platz - 3.000 €, 3. Platz - 1.000 €

Dr. Möller (HB), Julius Montgomerie Luger, Rupert Höller und Bernhard Wenger (von links nach rechts)

 

1. Platz: THE BEERBOARD
von Julius Montgomerie Luger, Clemens Friese & Mike Schneider
LMU München, Deutschland

2. Platz: LIQUIDS OF LIFE
von Rupert Höller & Bernhard Wenger
UMDK, Filmakademie Wien, Österreich

3. Platz: DECISIONS
von Rupert Höller & Bernhard Wenger
UMDK, Filmakademie Wien, Österreich